HTTP exporter - does it exist, or how to create one

I am very new to the Prometheus and this is my first posting in this forum.
However, I am skilled C++ and Java developer, specializing on the back-end, with over a quarter of century experience. Unfortunately, I haven’t done any GO development, but willing to learn it if needed.
We have a extensive set of APIs running on a Tomcat under RHEL8.
We do need to collect those API metrics, i.e. collect timeseries of API request/response with URL matching pattern that will contain HTTP method (GET, POST, PUT, …), HTTP response code (20x, 500, 40x, etc.) and duration of the call in milliseconds. This is the least what we need for the beginning. Later we might need to add headers and request parameters.
I have browsed Prometheus documentation but wasn’t able to find any exporters that would do something like what we need.
Therefore my questions are:

1. Does such exporter exist? If so, can you, please, provide links to it?
  2. If it does not exist, how to create it, preferably in Java? (I haven’t done any C++ coding for 10+years). I was thinking about parsing CATALINA log files, but may be you can provide better idea. Unfortunately, in the docs I didn’t see any topics about custom exporters.
  3. How to handle horizontal scaling, when we’ll have several boxes running same APIs?

Any helpful tips and pointers are very appreciated.

Ideally you’d directly instrument your application. You can then add exactly the metrics you are wanting. In this case you’d generally have a total count of requests & a total duration of those requests (possibly split into multiple request duration buckets via a histogram). You can then calculate how average/quartile request durations change over time. With direct instrumentation you can also add exemplars to give you real examples of slow requests, etc.